Poetry with a Purpose

“Why’m I pushing myself to churn out a poem everyday?” I asked the nothingness around me. My efforts were leaving me disgruntled. I was worried about the number of likes, views, followers and effectiveness of the content in my poems or reflections.

After much thought, I found peace in why I was writing. Here are some concrete reasons as to why I write my Poetry now.

  • To get people to be more sensitive and considerate towards the sufferings of others.
  • To educate anyone reading about disturbing issues that  stealthily plague the undercurrent of our society and world.
  • To encourage anybody and everybody to engage in an expressive art form of their choice.

Articulate Culture: Original Purpose

When Articulate Culture first started up,  I wanted to write for an audience- not because I yearned for a cathartic experience. I felt like writing as a means of educating the public. Since I was curious myself about cultures in different countries, I thought of researching on each country and delivering intriguing details about elements of their culture, to the audiences of this blog. It worked for a few months, reaching a hiatus thereafter.

I felt caged to rigid targets and what was supposed to be a relaxing and educational travel experience,  failed to bring me peace any longer.

Instead of writing to people about countries of the world, I wanted to write about issues in the world that many people are ignorant towards, although a minority fight for them – issues that dwell on inequality, religion, power struggles at the expanse of the loss of countless lives.

Articulate Culture: Now

At present, I’m exploring different methods of delivering poems and reflections. I’m trying to find a writing style comfortable to me within the realm of poetry. I don’t just want it to be comfortable to me.

The poems are not about me. The poems are about people and situations in the world that I want others to think deeply about. 

Older Blog

When I first began blogging as a teenager, my poetry revolved around myself mostly- my worries, pain, joys. I wrote to purge my negative emotions. People were reading the poetry and liking it either because they identified with it or wanted to encourage me on a similar journey we were all undergoing in the world of blogging and during our limited time of life on earth.

Whatever their reason was, it was about finding community in pain. Now, I would like to go beyond the reasons of just finding a community.

I want my work to be able to transform the minds and hearts of others- to nurture a world of more considerate and sensitive individuals.

Transform with Art

As I reach the end of my post, I want to urge you to think about why you’re creating your Art, be it writings, graphics, music, videos, etc.

With a concrete Purpose, Art can be transformative. Transformation is what we need in this fallible world in which men, including me, constantly fall prey to comfort and ignorance. 

 

Leave a Reply

