Waking up at 5.30am – Getting the habit right this week

SO, I went to bed early- really early, at 9.30pm. Kudos to me. But, I unfortunately didn’t manage to get up at 5.30am.

Or should I say ‘fortunately’ with the optimism that trying yet again would only increase my chances in accomplishing my goal?

A student of mine had told me earlier this week that he wakes up at 4.30am after heading to bed early. I had already been struggling to wake up earlier than 7 for a long time and when I heard him tell me that nurturing such a habit was a success for him, I told myself that it was time to stop throwing excuses in.

Nurturing a habit. Yes, nothing comes automatically. It takes time to incorporate a new habit into life. Besides, during anxious moments, humans are prone to falling back to old habits- whether good or bad, to aid in their procrastination.

The experts ask to give it 30 days before it becomes a habit. During this period, you can expect to face many setbacks but its about pulling through it and having a clear purpose as to why you want to form that habit.

Reasons for why I was unable to get up early the past couple of attempts:

  1. I had woken up too early in the morning (e.g. 1.30am or 3.30am). Unable to sleep, I rolled about, read a book and by the time I got to sleep and the 5.30am alarm rang, I told myself, “No no no….you DESERVE to sleep longer.”
  2. I had gone to bed too late.
  3. The silence and darkness outside the window, was uncomfortable and without a clear purpose as to what to do, I saw no use in forcing myself to stay awake. Back to Sleep, it was!
  4. I did not want to face the rest of the day as it was going to be filled with instances I’m not exactly looking forward to, so I crawled back into my comforter.
  5. I was shivering in the cold most of the night and thought to myself, “There is no way I am waking up until I am properly warmed up.” So, I put on my socks and headed straight back to sleep.

Getting the Purposes Straight and Clear as to why I want to get up at 5.30am the next week:

1.Prayer

Whether I feel like or not, I want to have at least 10 minutes of silence, communicating with God. God seems so distant to me now and I’m confused about so many elements of my faith. Complaining or Thanksgiving- whatever it is, I just want to speak to him in the silence.

2.Reading

I really need to catch up on reading. Time is too short and my frazzled mind is constantly preoccupied with work throughout the day.

Even when I am done with work and return home, I feel the need to have family interaction time and by the time I get to bed, I’m too tired and would rather look at unimportant information on the phone when my eyes are half-closing. So, I really need at least 3o minutes of reading time in the morning to satisfy my intellectual thirst, before I proceed with the rest of the day.

3.Writing

By the time I achieve my dream of writing a novel,  the cows are not just going to come home but they’re going to be intelligent enough to rule the planet. Somehow, I’m just never in the ‘right mind’ to write (a sophisticated way of rephrasing procrastination).

I have sudden compulsions to express myself and I do write during those moments. Still, so many of my writings are unfinished and resting lethargically on my desktop. I aim to at least write 300 words every morning to develop the plot for one of my novels. That’s not too challenging of a goal.

10 minutes of prayer. 30 minutes of reading. 30 minutes of writing.

All made possible when I kick the sheets away with the strong three purposes flashing brightly in my mind even as I am shrouded in the morning darkness. Let’s hope that I make this habit happen successfully this week!

How about you? Do you intend to form any new habits this week?

Featured Image: Pinterest, Daune | Cottage in the Oaks

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Waking up at 5.30am – Getting the habit right this week

    1. Yes indeed Edward!
      Haha,let me get that corrected.

      Also,yes. I’ve come to realise that whether I sleep early or late, I should ensure that I ge up at 5am. Thank you for your response and I look forward to reading more of your intriguing posts!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Goodness..what was I thinking. Now, I understand how my eyes can play tricks on me. I’m extremely sorry. Edmark,yes. Thanks. Have a great week ahead.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

